Fireworks Logo


  • Last Year of Darkness (The)
  • Fitting In
  • Our Son
  • Girls on Film
  • New Look (The)
  • Making the Yuletide Gay: A Very Special Paul Lynde Christmas
  • War on Disco (The)
  • Without Ward
  • We Have Never Been Modern
  • Mary & George
  • Bellezza, addio
  • Beyond the Aggressives: 25 Years Later
  • Amal
  • Outed
  • Confessions
  • Beyond the Straight and Narrow
  • A Closet-free Home
  • Great Erection Deception: The Stiff Nights Story (The)
  • Absolute Beginners
  • Christmas on Cherry Lane
  • Señora Influencer
  • Patikim-tikim
  • Last House of Horror (The)
  • Escaping Twin Flames
  • We Live Here: The Midwest
  • Draw for Change!
  • Candace Parker: Unapologetic
  • Holding Back the Tide
  • You're Not Supposed to Be Here
  • Telas
  • Neirud
  • Everybody Dies Trying to Make a Masterpiece
  • Éviction
  • Tore
  • Joy Is the Acid Test
  • Life Lasts Two Days
  • Jour Fille (Un)
  • My Dear
  • You're OUT!
  • Analogue Revolution: How Feminist Media Changed the World

Next Goal Wins

Country: United Kingdom, United States, Language: English, 103 mins

  • Director: Taika Waititi
  • Writer: Taika Waititi, Iain Morris
  • Producer: Sophie Alexander, Garrett Basch, Mike Brett, Jonathan Cavendish, Kathryn Dean, Steve Jamison, Josh McLaglen, Gabby Revilla Lugo, Phil Robertson, Andy Serkis, Will Tennant, Taika Waititi

CGiii Comment

"Be Happy."

Story of the American Samoa soccer team, who suffered the worst loss in World Cup history, losing to Australia 31-0 in 2001. With the 2014 World Cup approaching, the team recruits a down on his luck, maverick coach (Fassbender) to help turn their fate around.


Cast & Characters

Michael Fassbender (as Thomas Rongen)
Oscar Kightley (as Tavita)
Kaimana (as Jaiyah)
David Fane (as Ace)
Rachel House (as Ruth)
Beulah Koale (as Daru)
Taika Waititi (as American Samoan Priest)
Will Arnett (as Alex Magnussen)
Elisabeth Moss (as Gail)
Uli Latukefu (as Nicky Salapu)
Sisa Grey (as Convenient Store Cashier)
Semu Filipo (as Rambo)
Chris Alosio (as Jonah)
Lehi Makisi Falepapalangi (as Pisa (as Lehi Falepapalangi))
Ioane Goodhue (as Smiley)
Hio Pelesasa (as Samson)
William Kahele (as 'Who's on the Plane' Reporter)
Rhys Darby (as Rhys Marlin)
Luke Hemsworth (as Keith)
Angus Sampson (as Angus Bendleton)
Kaitlyn Dever (as Nicole)
Levy Tuiala (as Chief Sila)
James Burghardt (as Tongan Player #1)
Patrick Mullen (as Tongan Player #2)
Jonathan J.I. Knox (as Game Referee)